Book Tags

The Opposite Books Tag: Number 3

3. A book with a male protagonist and one with a female protagonist

So, I was about to choose Harry Potter as the male protagonist, but then I remembered that I’ve mentioned him in a previous post. To not to repeat myself, I chose another character: Thomas, from The Maze Runner trilogy.

 

 

Thomas is a pretty decent guy, I guess. I mean, he has been through a lot, but he always keeps on running (ahahha, pun intended!). However, this trilogy didn’t touch my heart. I’ve only read the first two books and I enjoyed both of them, especially the second one. I also liked the characters and the fact that they are kind of unpredictable. But there’s still something missing about this story and I don’t know why…  I actually think that Thomas is kind of “empty” as a main character. When I compare him with other main characters, like Harry Potter, Katniss Everdeen or Tris Prior, I feel like he’s not that interesting or there’s something lacking. But I do like the fact that he likes challenges. What I mean is that he kind of does the unthinkable and he defies the odds. That’s pretty cool, by the way!
Anyway, I haven’t read the third one yet and that’s because I have been buying other books instead of the conclusion of this series. I also haven’t bought it because I’m afraid I won’t like it. I’ve read many mixed reviews about the end of this trilogy… So, yup, I don’t know when I’ll finish it.

20151123_111815
Every time I post a photo I took with my phone, this happens… Ughhhh…I’ll post a better photo tomorrow, sorry!

 

 

For the female character, I really, REALLY, had to choose…. KATNISS EVERDEEN, THE GIRL ON FIRE! THE MOCKINGJAY!!!!!

Katniss is definitely one of the strongest characters that I’ve ever read about! I love everything about her, even her flaws! There are things which I can relate with her, like the fact that I would do anything to keep my little sister safe. Like Katniss, I don’t really know how to be more sociable and I can’t stand injustice. Katniss didn’t want to be the Mockingjay, but she was anyway because she wanted to do something right, and she also wanted to keep her loved ones safe. And she did all that while suffering the consequences of both Games and seeing her friends dying. I mean, yes, she is one of the strongest characters of the YA literature.

 

IMG_20151119_221133

 

I’m so happy that I’m going to watch Mockingjay Part 2 this Saturday, but I really don’t want to say goodbye. OMG, I’ll cry a river…

 

 

I hope you had/are having a lovely Monday! Byeeee!

 

Leave a Reply

