Bookworm stuff · Sem categoria

My Birthday Book Haul!!!

So, yesterday (19th January) was my 19th birthday! Yayyyyy!

Therefore, I went to the mall and had a fun lunch with some friends! Then, we watch The Big Short movie. I didn’t want to watch it, but The 5th Wave didn’t come to my city, so… Yup… But it is a good movie! It’s the kind of movie that makes us think, you know?

Anyway… HERE ARE ALL THE GIFTS I GOT!!!! All the books I got are in Portuguese. Only one of them was written by a portuguese author. But, first, let me say the ones I got that maybe you have heard about before:

 

20160119_201049
My mom bought me The Bone Season, by Samantha Shannon!

Goodreads synopsis: The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

The Bone Season introduces a compelling heroine and also introduces an extraordinary young writer, with huge ambition and a teeming imagination. Samantha Shannon has created a bold new reality in this riveting debut.

I can’t wait to read this book! I mean, I have to wait because there are so many unread books on my bookshelf, but you know what I mean.

 

20160119_201100
MY BFF GAVE SKY KEY TO ME AND, OMG, I REALLY WANT THIS BOOK SO BAD!!! SHE’S SUCH AN AMAZING FRIEND!

Goodreads synopsis: The sequel to the New York Times bestseller and international multimedia phenomenon, Endgame: The Calling.

Endgame is here. Earth Key has been found. Two keys—and nine Players—remain. The keys must be found, and only one Player can win.

Queens, New York. Aisling Kopp believes the unthinkable: that Endgame can be stopped. But before she can get home to regroup, she is approached by the CIA. They know about Endgame. And they have their own ideas about how it should be Played. Ideas that could change everything.

Kingdom of Aksum, Ethiopia. Hilal ibn Isa al-Salt narrowly survived an attack that leaves him horribly disfigured. He now knows something the other Players do not. But the Aksumites have a secret that is unique to their line. A secret that can help redeem humanity—and maybe even be used to help defeat the beings behind Endgame.

London, England. Sarah Alopay has found the first key. She is with Jago—and they are winning.But getting Earth Key has come at a great cost to Sarah. The only thing that keeps the demons at bay is Playing. Playing to win.

Sky Key—wherever it is, whatever it is—is next. And the nine remaining Players will stop at nothing to get it.

Guysssssss…. I FREAKING LOVE THE FIRST BOOK OF THIS SERIES AND I TOLD MY BFF THAT I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE THIS SECOND BOOK FOR MY BIRTHDAY AND SHE BOUGHT IT! OMG! Damn, I want to read it now, but there are other books I want to read first! Oh, the struggle!

20160119_201119
All the Light We Cannot See was given to me by one good friend of mine!

Goodreads synopsis: WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE
From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.

Marie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her way home. When she is twelve, the Nazis occupy Paris and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure’s reclusive great-uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum’s most valuable and dangerous jewel.

In a mining town in Germany, the orphan Werner grows up with his younger sister, enchanted by a crude radio they find. Werner becomes an expert at building and fixing these crucial new instruments, a talent that wins him a place at a brutal academy for Hitler Youth, then a special assignment to track the resistance. More and more aware of the human cost of his intelligence, Werner travels through the heart of the war and, finally, into Saint-Malo, where his story and Marie-Laure’s converge.

Doerr’s “stunning sense of physical detail and gorgeous metaphors” (San Francisco Chronicle) are dazzling. Deftly interweaving the lives of Marie-Laure and Werner, he illuminates the ways, against all odds, people try to be good to one another. Ten years in the writing, a National Book Award finalist, All the Light We Cannot See is a magnificent, deeply moving novel from a writer “whose sentences never fail to thrill” (Los Angeles Times).

I love WW2 fictional books, and I really wanted to buy this book someday! I’m glad that this friend of mine gave it to me!

Now, this last book is the one thta was written by a Portuguese author, and there is no synopsis in english. However, I can tell you that I really wanted this book, which has novellas, and according to some reviews, it’s beautiful! So, I’m also happy that another friend of mine got me this!

20160119_201141

I also got two necklaces, as you can see below.

Well, that’s all I got yesterday. Amazing, right? This Saturday, I’m going to have my birthday party with family and family’s friends, so maybe I’ll get some books, but I’m expecting money, so that I can buy some!

Yes, I already know what I might get because I have these birthday parties since I was really little and I got used to certain gifts. Of course that, when I was a kid, people gave me clothes, toys and money, but since everyone found out I love books, they either give me books or money. Yayyyyy!

Well, that’s it for today! Byeeee!

20160119_195257

8 thoughts on “My Birthday Book Haul!!!

Leave a Reply

