Top Ten Tuesday

Top 10 Tuesday: Freebie week!

 

Here’s a little introduction about the meme, which was created by The Broke and the Bookish:

“Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!
Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.”
Those paragraphs were taken from The Broke and the Bookish. For more information, here’s the post.
As you can see, I should have done this yesterday, but I didn’t because, well, I felt lazy…. What’s new, anyway?
But, yesterday theme was: Freebie Week! Pick a topic near and dear to your heart! Something you wished was on our official list!
For this, I chose Ten Portuguese Books I Want to Read in 2016!
The thing is, of course they wouldn’t have this topic on their list; after all, I think that none of these people are Portuguese. Anyway, I chose this because I want to know more Portuguese authors. Sometimes, I only read them if I need them for school (now, for college). Now, I want to read because I WANT to read.
I won’t post the official synopsis of these following novels because mostly all of them aren’t available in English. However, I will tell, in a few lignes, what the book is about.
So, here we go:
  1. A Desumanização, by valter hugo mãe: Possible English title- “The Dehumanization”.A Desumanização

    The narrator of this book is a 11-year-old girl who lost her twin sister and who is trying to deal with it. The story takes place in Iceland and the book is described as being melancholic, poetic, intense, and heartbreaking.

    This author was born in Angola, which has Portuguese has the official main language. I really want to read his books because many people love them! Also, he is coming to my island soon and I want to go to the meeting knowing some of his books. This is one of his books that I really want to read.

  2. Contos de cães e maus lobos, also by valter hugo mãe: Possible English title- “Tales of Dogs and Bad Wolfs”.Contos de cães e maus lobos

    This one is a bunch of novellas and, according to the (Portuguese) synopsis, “dogs and wolves are only a symbol for anxiety towards life and the fundamental learning values and the capacity to love.”
    This book caught my eye because the cover is simple, but pretty. Also, when I saw it in the bookstore, I found out that it has illustrations and they are BEAUTIFUL!
    I actually got this on my birthday and I can’t wait to read it!

  3. Para onde vão os guarda-chuvas?, by Afonso Cruz. Possible English title- “Where are the umbrellas going?”.Para onde vão os guarda-chuvas

    This book is about life, loss, deat, and family. I think it is some Middle East references, but I’m not really sure. Anyway, many people, here in Portugal, LOVE this book. And I really want to read it.

  4. Flores, by Afonso Cruz: The English title could be something like “Flowers”.

    Flores
    Isn’t this cover BEAUTIFUL??? *-*
    Here’s some quotes taken from the (Portuguese) synopsis: “A disturbing story about memory and what remains of us when we lose it. A poignant novel about love [..]”.
    Now that I have some money (that I got on my birthday party), I can finally buy this book!

  5. Livro, by José Luís Peixoto: Possible English title- “Book”. Yes, I know.

    Livro

    This book is about the Portuguese emmigration to France which happened a lot 19th/20th century, but also happens nowadays. I read a Portuguese review that said that this book can be split in two parts: the first one is about a love story between two portuguese people, but the woman has to go to France, and, therefore, is a sad part. But the second part is happier and brighter and it ends after The Carnation Revolution, which happened on 25th April 1974.

  6. Cemitério de Pianos, by José Luís Peixoto: Possible English title- “The Graveyard of Pianos”, or “Pianos’ Graveyard”.

    Here’s a translation of a little part of the (Portuguese) synopsis: “The narrators, father and son, unravel the story of the family, which lives in Lisbon, and talk of death: death as hopeless fate, uninterrupted cycle, renewal and link between generations”.
    I think it sounds interesting!

  7. Ensaio sobre a Cegueira, by José Saramago: The official English title- Blindness.

    Here’s the English cover.

    José Saramago is the only Portuguese author who has won the Nobel Prize in Literature. This happened in 1998. I’m still hoping that another Portuguese writer will win this!
    There are English editions of this book, so here’s the Goodreads synopsis: “From Nobel Prize–winning author José Saramago, a magnificent, mesmerizing parable of loss

    A city is hit by an epidemic of “white blindness” that spares no one. Authorities confine the blind to an empty mental hospital, but there the criminal element holds everyone captive, stealing food rations and assaulting women. There is one eyewitness to this nightmare who guides her charges—among them a boy with no mother, a girl with dark glasses, a dog of tears—through the barren streets, and their procession becomes as uncanny as the surroundings are harrowing. As Blindnessreclaims the age-old story of a plague, it evokes the vivid and trembling horrors of the twentieth century, leaving readers with a powerful vision of the human spirit that’s bound both by weakness and exhilarating strength.”

    I have only read one of his books and I didn’t really enjoy it. I only read because it was one of the novels we have to study in highschool. I admire his writing, but I think the plot was kind of boring.
    However, I really want to read this novel because REASONS.

  8. A Filha do Barão, by Célia Correia Loureiro: Possible English title- “The Baron’s Daughter”.

    A Filha do Barão

    It’s a Historical Fiction novel and it takes place, of course, in Portugal, in 1809, during the French Invasion. I think I have only read two Historical Fiction novels, and I didn’t really enjoy them… However, this book has many positive reviews and it’s on my TBR list now.

  9. O Cavalheiro Inglês, by Carla M. Soares: Possible Englis title- “The English Gentleman”.

    O Cavalheiro Inglês

    Here’s another Historical Fiction portuguese novel that takes place in Portugal, but in 1892. It happens during the time the Portuguese people wasn’t happy with the English/British Ultimatum. Another novel on my TBR list.

  10. O luto de Elias Gro, de João Tordo: Possible English title- “The grief of Elias Gro”.
    O Luto de Elias Gro
    Whenever I see this cover, it reminds me of sadness.

     

    This is about a man who goes to a little island in the middle of Atlantic Ocean, searching for solitude and oblivion, but ends up finding much more.
    This another author that many people love here, so I am really curious about his books.

 

 

So, here’s my Top 10 Tuesday that I should have posted yesterday! See you soon!

 

Bye_daniel

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Freebie week!

Leave a Reply

