Book review

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses, by Sarah J. Maas (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)

20160130_160951
THIS COVER IS SO BEAUTIFUL! I CAN’T EVEN!

 

Gooreads synopsis: A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beastwith faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

REVIEW: Now, I know why there are so many people that love Sarah J. Maas! This book is so addictive! Maas created fantastic and credible characters and she has such a detailed writing, which is pure magic and somehow poetic. Also, it’s such a great “Beauty and the Beast” retelling!

P.S- There will be times that I will call this book as ACOTAR, to be easier for me to write my review ^^

Anoterh P.S- There may be minor spoilers! I just talk a little about the world Maas created, you know, I give some little details, but I don’t think they are really spoilers. Anyway, here’s a warning 🙂
Also, I’m sorry if there are mistakes! English is not my main language. ^^

Let’s talk about the writing first: Maas is an extremely talented author. As I said, it is detailed and even poetic, but her writing can also be concise. Maas shows all her splendour in the descriptions not only of the spaces or the environment, but also the feelings of the main character, Feyre, which is the narrator. Immediately in the first chapter, thanks to the clarity of speech and rich vocabulary, I connected, instantly, with Feyre, a 19 year old girl who does everything and anything to keepher family safe. It’s a mesmerizing writing! We just want to continue to “devour” the pages and learn more about the story. By the way, yesterday, when I finished reading, I could not believe it when it ended because I wanted more and I realized I should have read more slowly. So, congratulations,Sarah J. Maas, you can indeed write breathtaking Fantasy stories! Thank God I have Throne of Glass in my bookshelf!

Now, about the world-building: I was fascinated, despite the fact that there aren’t many details. All we know is that there is a world that is split into two: the humans and the Fae. Within the world of Faes, there are two distinct territories, Prythian and Hybern, but let’s focus on Prythian, which has seven Courts: Spring Court, Summer Court, Autumn Court, Winter Court, Dawn Court, Day Court and Night Court. Prythian should be ruled by the High Lords of each court, but in this first book, there is a woman who wants to rule the entire territory. This woman, Amarantha, declares herself as the Queen of Prythian and she controls everything and everyone from Under the Mountain. There isn’t much information about Hybern; we only know that it is also a Faes kingdom that is not divided into Courts or, at least, is ruled by a single king. As for Prythian courts, there isn’t mucn information either. We only know a little about the story of three Courts: Spring, Fall and Night. However, I believe there will be more details in the following books because when there is Fantasy series, the best thing to do is to split the information in every single book and not provide details all at once, in just one book. In some reviews I read, some readers criticized the lack of information about the worl Mass created, but I think they don’t understand that the author made the right choice by not revealing too much about this world of Faes in the first book of her trilogy.
So, it’s good that we only have the main details about this world. The author gave us basic information that could satisfy the reader and that information is interesting enough. Would you rather have a book that has too much info-dumping? I really don’t like when that happens and thank God it didn’t happen in ACOTAR! I mean, I know that you want to find out more about these new worlds that these fantastic writers create, but seriously? Chill, you’ll get the information eventually. I swear, I prefer to get it slowly rather than have info-dumping books.

Wow. Perfect gif.

Now, FINALLY, about the characters: All I can say is  that they were very well built and planned. The introduction of each was taken flawlessly, and the development was natural and, in some cases, surprising. I loved Feyre! I loved her altruistic side, I loved her passion for painting. She’s an honest, courageous and strong character who is able to fight and protect herself and others. I also liked the fact that she didn’t blame herself for falling in love in the middle of a serious situation. Often in YA books, the main character feels very guilty when she/he falls in love, since they associate the idea of  love to the idea of weakness. In Feyre’s case, I did not feel it. On the contrary, the love Ishe felt only made her stronger. Thus, I loved the fact that the author chose to create a character who thinks that love is capable of giving us strength.

Feyre | A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas:
I found this on Pinterest. Isn’t this amazing?

 

Then there is Tamlin. Well, he is a wonderful Fae, indeed. I also loved his character development evolution because, at first,  he seemed to be cold and distant, but he just created walls to protect himself from the world around him. Later, he turned out to be a kind, protective and selfless. He can be affectionate and he is against the perverse and cruel practices of his father when he was the High Lord. Tamlin is the High Lord of Spring Court now, but never wanted to hold such a position, but still, he is fair and cautious. As this is a retelling of “Beauty and the Beast”, I can already tell that he is the monster, but not for being bad. He may have his flaws, but he is not cruel. He simply can turn into a scary, big strong bear, which can kill anyone with his sharp claws and teeth. Speaking of the story, I can already say that I loved the way the curse was broken! But, anyway, I won’t say much more. I think there are enough (minor) spoilers already!
So, yes, I really liked Tamlin!

Tamlin | A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas:
This is also from Pinterest.

Then, there is Lucien, who is sarcastic, charismatic and loyal. I loved the friendship between him and Feyre, as the protagonist also likes sarcasm. But I really loved how much he cares about Tamlin! That’s why I said he is loyal because he really is! He would anything to help Tam! And, of course, I loved his sarcasm. He really loved to tease Feyre, and I loved that! I felt so bad about his past, tho. His family doesn’t deserve him! But no, I won’t say much more now! Ops!

Lucien:
Pinterest is a beautiful world, indeed.

 

Now, about Rhysand, the High Lord of the Night Court. For me, he is the most interesting character of them all. He is vain, arrogant and manipulative, but he also kind of have an affable side, like, I think is able to love, to protect and to make sacrifices for the greater good. For me, he’s the most mysterious character in the story and I am glad that we will know more about him in the next book! He is one of those “gray” characters. He is manipulative and cold, but he turns out to be protective and careful when it’s about Feyre. I believe that all his actions were based on his feelings for Feyre, something that will be explored in the second book. I mean, does he really feel something for her? I don’t know, but I think I’ll find out once I’ve read A Court of Mist of Fury!

Rhysand:
More from Pinterest!

By the way, my fancast for Rhysand is definitely Benedict Cumberbacth. I don’t care, he is my choice for Rhysand! I mean, look at him:

Beautiful eyes. Nice hair. One word: PERFECT

And, have you seen him has Khan? Because OMG:

 

He would freaking slay as Rhysand!

Also, another thing: this fanart of Feyre and Rhysand is so beautiful (I found it on Tumblr):

 

This was on SJM her ACOTAR pinterest board as Feyre and RhysFangirled so hard when I saw this
THE FREAKING COLOURS! AND THEY BOTH LOOK FANTASTIC! DAMN!

Ok, ok, let’s finish this review.

In conclusion, A Court of Thorns and Roses is an excellent Fantasy book filled with deep characters that have their own characteristics. It is a magnificent fairy story that was very well built and I love how the retelling worked so well! Don’t forget it’s a retelling “Beauty and the Beast”! To make the book even better, we have the phenomenal writing of the author that only makes us want to devour page after page.

I can’t wait for the second book, A Court of Mist and Fury, which will come out in the US on May 3 this year.

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)
Cover and synopsis taken from Goodreads

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court–but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms–and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future–and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

 

Diapositivo16

 

anigif_enhanced-buzz-14744-1379608422-2

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses, by Sarah J. Maas (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s