Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Historical and Futuristic Books (Read and Unread)

 

Hereโ€™s a little introduction about the meme, which was created by The Broke and the Bookish:

โ€œTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. Weโ€™d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!
Each week we will post a new Top Ten listย  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you donโ€™t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! Itโ€™s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.โ€
Those paragraphs were taken from The Broke and the Bookish. For more information, hereโ€™s the post.

This week’s theme is:ย Top Ten Historical Settings You Love/ Ten Historical Settings You’d Love To See or Top Futuristic Books You Love/Ten Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read in Books — basically this week is all about the past or the future….spin it however you choose!
I decided to do this: Top Ten Historical and Futuristicย Books (Read and Unread).
First, here areย the Historical books, which are all set during WW2. It’s weird to say this, but I love fiction novels that take place during WWII. Well, here we go:
  1. Between Shades of Gray, by Ruta Sepetys (Read): I loved this book so much! I only took two days to read this. It’s such a fantastic book and if you also love WWII novels,ย you should read this one, if you haven’.
  2. The Diary of a Young Girl, by Anne Frank (read): I read this when I was 14 years old. There were moments when I felt bored while reading it, but then I ended up loving the book in general. I should reread it this year because I read it when I was really young and I know that I’ll love it even more if I read it now.
  3. The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak (read): What I really loved about this book was the narrator. If you don’t know, the narrator is Death itself. I know, right? But it was phenomenal! I loved everything about this book!
  4. The Boy in theย Stripped Pajamas, by John Boyne: Honestly, Iย don’t remember much about this book. I think I read it when I was 13, 14. But I know this is a good book for those ages, between 12-15. And older , of course, but if there’s someone really young that would like to read a WWII fictional novel, this is the right one.
  5. All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr (unread):ย This one was given to me by a friend of mine, on my birthday. I have heard so many good things about this book, and I can’t wait to read it.

    Now, let’s talk about Futuristic books (read and unread):

  6. The Hunger Games trilogy, by Suzanne Collins (read): These books… ARE FREAKING AMAZING! This is definitely my favourite trilogy ever! I really hope that, one day, Suzanne Collins writes spin-offs. I really would like to read a book about Haymitch’s Hunger Games, and Finnick’s as well. Also, a book about the first Hunger Games ever! You know, a book that explains how it started! Please, Suzanne Collins, please!!!!

    No, I don’t have boxsets. *sighs*
  7. Red Rising, by Pierce Brown (read): This books is, just, WOW. It’s freaking amazing. I really can’t wait for the portuguese edition of Golden Son, which date release is 17th February, I think. I have to check that. Anyway, READ THIS BOOK IF YOU HAVEN’T AND IF YOU LOVE SCI-FI!Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy, #1)
  8. Divergent trilogy, by Veronica Roth: I really love the first book, and I really enjoyed the others as well, despite the fact that many people hated Allegiant, but I understood the writer’s choice and I’m glad she wrote what she wanted to write. The thing is, I have watched the movies and they are kind of terrible adaptations… I know that book-to- movie adaptations have many changes and I accept that, but, God, have you watched Insurgent? What is that? I guess that because of the movies, I started to think that I don’t love this trilogy as much as before. I know, movies have nothing to do with the books, but with the movies, I understood one thing: the story focus too much in Tris and Four’s relationship. I want real Sci-Fi stuff. I may have not liked the Insurgent movie, but as movie, instead of a book-to movie adaptation, it was a great Sci-Fi movie, you know what I mean? I still love this trilogy, especially the first book, but not as much as before.
  9. Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard (unread): Correct me if I’m wrong, but this is set in a futuristic time, right?
    Ok, I have heard/read many mixed reviews about this one. Many people loved it; many people loved it, despite the fact that it’s not really original; many people hated because it’s not original. But, you know, I really can’t wait to read it. It seems like my kind of book and I think I’m ok with the fact that it may be similar to other books. It’s not on my February TBR list, but if I have time, I think I’ll read it.Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)
  10. The 100, by Kass Morgan (unread): I only bought this book because I FREAKING LOVE THE TV SHOW. Also, I love post-apocalyptic stories. But many people say that the tv show is WAY better than the book because the book focus too much in love stories and the writing is not that good. However, it’s on my shelf and I’ll read it this year.The 100 (The 100, #1)

 

That’s it for now, bookish people! What about yout top ten? See you soon!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Historical and Futuristic Books (Read and Unread)

Leave a Reply

