Book Travelling Thursdays · Bookworm stuff

Book Traveling Thursdays- Father’s day is coming!

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme that was created by Cátia @The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @Danielle’s Book Blog. All you have to do is to post covers of a book related to that week’s theme, which you can see at the Goodreads group. You have to post the original cover, the one that exists in your country, and finally your favorite covers and least favorite ones.

This week’s theme is: Father’s Day is celebrated in a couple of days in a few countries! Choose a book with a awesome father figure.

Ok, this one was hard because I don’t have many books that have fathers in the story, which is kind of strange, right?
Anyway, I thought that I should choose Hazel’s dad, from The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green. Why did I choose him? Well, read this:

“You are not a grenade, not to us. Thinking about you dying makes us sad, Hazel, but you are not a grenade. You are amazing. You can’t know, sweetie, because you’ve never had a baby become a brilliant young reader with a side interest in horrible television shows, but the joy you bring us is so much greater than the sadness we feel about your illness.”

Goddamnit, the FEELS!!!!

Can I just say that I loved the actor who played Hazel’s dad in the book-to-movie adaptation? He was awesome!

Ahahahahah!

Original cover: I love blue covers, so this one is totally one of my favorites!!!


 

Cover(s) from your country: There are 3 different editions:

This is the one I have and I totally love it! I actually love it more than I love the original cover! That means alot!
I actually don’t know why they published a limited, exclusive edition, but I still love it!
Of course they had to publish a new edition with one of the movie posters, but it still looks wonderful!

Favorite covers: All the Portuguese ones, the original one, and the following:

Colpa delle stelle
I usually don’t like the Italian covers, but this one looks lovely!
Hvězdy nám nepřály
Czech edition: I love the fact that they kept the idead of the original cover, but they still kind of changed it! It looks wonderful!
生命中的美好缺憾
This Chinese editon looks so pretty, too!!!

Least Favorite Covers: OMG, there are some that are really terrible…

 

Dėl mūsų likimo ir žvaigždės kaltos
Lithuanian edition: This is what I call as “lazy cover”. What the hell? It has nothing to do with the plot!
Colpa delle stelle
What???? I was so proud of the Italian publisher when I posted the one above, but they also had this one? WHAT THE HELL??????? This is terrible…
Een weeffout in onze sterren
Dutch edition: Another “lazy cover”…
The Fault in Our Stars - Salahkan Bintang-Bintang
Indonesian edition: Ok, I like this cover as a piece of art, or a cover for a kids book… But for TFIOS? Nahhhh. But it still looks cute!

Ok, that’s it for today! Who are your favorite fathers from literature? Or father figures? 😀

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays- Father’s day is coming!

    1. Oh, it’s okay! But maybe you could post it on Fridays. I don’t think the creators would mind that, even though it’s claled Book Traveling Thursdays :p
      The Fault in Our Stars is a great book! You should read it sometime!
      Oh, the movie is amazing! It’s one of the best book-to-movie adaptations that I’ve ever seen!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

