Book Haul · Bookworm stuff · Sem categoria

New books on my shelf!!!

Hello, bookworms! How are you? I hope you are all safe and sound because the world is getting worse, but I do believe there is still light in all this darkness. LOVE IS LOVE!!!!

Here’s a cute gif to make you all smile:

Now, let me tell you why I haven’t been blogging lately… It’s very simple:Β Sometimes, I don’t know what to post here and then I post nothing…. I am so sorry, guys! But here I am again!

Acutally, today I am going to talk about two books my mom bought for me this Sunday! Yayyyyy!


In the mainland (let me remind you that IΒ may live in Portugal, but I live in one of the Portuguese islands), there’s a huge book fairΒ going on. Actually, today was the last day of the wonderful Lisbon Book Fair, and I’m so sad that I didn’t go there… It reallyu sucks to live in a island, sometimes… Here, we don’t have these amazing book fairs, nor we have great authors coming here. Even the Portuguese writers rarely visit us…

Anyway, while some readers are very happy with what they got in that book fair, I’m happy that I got 2 books yesterday because they both had a 40% discount off! YESSSSS! And I told my mom to buy them because she had already told me she would like to give me something because I had fantastic grades this year. Let me also remind you that this was my first year as a college student and it was like a roller coaster, but I had amazing grades! I am actually the best student in my class! I am being completely honest, I’m not bragging. Is that a word? Does that exist?

Well, here are the books I got yesterday. Thank you, mom!


20160612_210714
Portuguese edition.

Synopsis (Book Depository):The No 1 Swedish thriller by the author of The Hypnotist and The Nightmare One girl is dead Detective Inspector Joona Linna has been called to a home for troubled girls, north of Stockholm. A young girl has been brutally murdered, her body arranged in bed with her hands covering her eyes. One girl is missing Vicky Bennet is the only girl unaccounted for. Did she run away to escape the chaos or does a bloody hammer
found under her pillow make her the prime suspect? One girl claims to have witnessed it all In Stockholm, Flora Hansen works as a medium, pretending to commune with the dead.

The Fire Witness
US edition.

When she begins to suffer crippling visions of the young girl’s murder, will anyone believe her? As Joona refuses to accept the easy answers, his search leads him into darker, more violent territory, and, finally, to a shocking confrontation with his past.

____________________________________________________________________________

20160612_210654
Portuguese edition.

Synopsis (Goodreads):Β During a cold winter night in Stockholm a man is found walking alongside a railway bridge, suffering from hypothermia and legionella. After he’s rushed to the hospital, it’s discovered that, according to a death certificate, the man has been dead for over seven years. He is believed to be a victim of notorious serial killer Jurek Walter, who was arrested years ago by Detective Inspector Joona Linna and sentenced to a life of total isolation in forensic psychiatric care.

The Sandman
US edition.

 

As Joona Linna investigates where the “dead man” has been all these years, some unexpected evidence leads to the reopening of a cold case. Danger is imminent, and someone needs to get under the skin of the serial killer–fast–as they are running out of time.

____________________________________________________________________________

I bought these books because I don’t usually read thrillers. However, I read Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn, last year and I loved it, so I made a promise to myself that I would try to read, at least, one thriller this summer. It seems now I have two!

The thing is… The Fire Witness is the third book of Joona Linna series, while The Sandman is the fourth. You are probably thinking that I should read the first two books (The Hypnotist and The Nightmare) of this series, but I don’t want to because their Goodreads reviews are really low and I actually think that the books I bought sound more interesting than the first books of this series. Someone has already told me that it’s ok to read these books individually, so I’m not worried about the story line.

I am excited to read these two books because, as I said, it’s really rare for me to read thrillers. Also, this series has many Portuguese fans. By the way, did you know that Lars Kepler is a pen name of two Swedish writers that are actually married? And they are very successful worldwide!

20160612_210736
These covers look amazing!

I hope I buy, or order, more books this month! I actually want to buy some Portuguese novels, but I don’t know yet.

What about you? Have you already bought many books this month?

 

4 thoughts on “New books on my shelf!!!

  1. I hadn’t heard of the author so I didn’t know it was actually a married couple. That’s so cool!!
    Congratulations on being the best student and on your first year! That’s amazing πŸ˜€ (bragging is totally a word haha, sometimes that happens to me too with English and even Spanish)
    The books sound pretty interesting, great covers too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope find a man that wants to write some books with me (a girl can dream).
      Oh, thank you! Yes, I eventually read that word in another blog :p
      Yes, I can’t wait to read them, but I have other books that I really want to read first. So many books, so little time!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

