Book Tags · Bookworm stuff · Sem categoria

The Diverse Books Tag

Here I am again, guys! This time, I bring you a bookish tag!

I was tagged by Cristina @MyTinyObsessions to answer the Diverse Books Tag! Thank you, Cristina!

I kind of have a problem with this tag: I haven’t read many diverse books yet. If there are diverse books in Portugal, they aren’t really well known, I guess. Also, when I can order books, I order Sci-Fi or Fantasy novels, and not all of them are really diverse. Therefore, most of my answers are books that I would like to read!


A book starring a lesbian character

The Summer I Wasn't Me
Oh, we are starting well… I don’t think I have one… But after some research, I found a very interesting book: The Summer I Wasn’t Me, by Jessica Verdi.
This book has some mixed reviews and it has 3.85 stars on Goodreads. However, I think I would like to read it because it’s about something that, unfortunately, exists nowadays in our society: camps for LGBT people where they learn how not to be who they are. I mean, what the hell? Being a LGBT person is not a flaw, it’s not a mistake. LGBT people are people. That’s it. So, yes, I think this books seems interesting. This is a very important issue.

____________________________________________________________________________

A book with a muslim protagonist

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban
I definitely want to read I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban. Since this is a non-fiction book, we can’t really say protagonsit. Anyway, I really want to learn more about Malala. All I know about her is what I watched on news channels. Since I admire what she has done so far and what she is still doing, I really want to read this book.

____________________________________________________________________________

A book set in Latin America

The Old Man Who Read Love Stories
Oh, here’s a book I have read! The Old Man Who Read Love Stories is set “In a remote river town deep in the Ecuadoran jungle”. I only gave it 3 out of 5 stars. Here in Portugal, Luís Sepúlveda is a very well known author, so when one of my college teachers said that we had to read this book for class, I was glad I finally had the opportunity to really read one of his books. But I didn’t love it, and I didn’t hate it either. It was just okay.

____________________________________________________________________________

A book about a person with a disability

All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr, has a blind character. I haven’t read it yet, but I think it’s going to be on my July TBR list. It was a birthday gift from one of my friends and the funny thing is that I almost bought it before my birthday! I’m glad I didn’t.
This novel has som many good reviews and I can’t wait to read it.

____________________________________________________________________________

A science-fiction or fantasy book with a POC (Person of Color) protagonist

An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)
I chose a Fantasy book I haven’t read yet, but I hope I get the book soon: An Ember in the Ashes, by Sabaa Tahir. This book has many POC characters, I think. It has many positive reviews and there is already a Portuguese edition! Yayyy! But I want to read it in English.
I have mentioned here that, last summer, I asked my aunt from Canada to send me some books, and An Ember in the Ashes is one of them. The problem is that it’s summer again, which means it has been one year since I said that to my aunt and she hasn’t sent me the books yet… I really have to talk to her about that.

 

 

____________________________________________________________________________

A book written by an indigenous or native author

Tilly: A Story of Hope and Resilience
I never thought of reading books written by indigenous authors! It just never crossed my mind. But I did some research for this tag and I found Tilly: A Story of Hope and Resilience, by Monique Gray Smith. The author is a “mixed-heritage woman of Cree, Lakota and Scottish ancestry”. Tilly is “loosely based on author Monique Gray Smith’s own life, this revealing, important work of creative non-fiction tells the story of a young Indigenous woman coming of age in Canada in the 1980s. With compassion, insight and humour, Gray Smith illuminates the 20th-century history of Canada’s First Peoples—forced displacement, residen­tial schools, tuberculosis hospitals, the Sixties Scoop. In a spirit of hope, this unique story captures the irrepressible resilience of Tilly, and of Indigenous peoples everywhere”.
Well, it sounds like an interesting book!

____________________________________________________________________________

A book set in South Asia

The Kite Runner
According to Goodreads, “South Asian countries include India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan. Some people also include Burma/Myanmar, Afghanistan, Iran and the Maldives as part of South Asia”. I do have a book for this categorie and it’s on my To Buy list: The Kite Runner, by Khaled Housseini.
I watched the movie in high school and it made me cry. Such a sad story, even though it has beautiful lessons about friendship. After I watched it, I promised to myself I would read that book one day. I should really order it. I could read it in Portuguese but, once again, now I want to read more books in English.

____________________________________________________________________________

A book with a biracial character

Eleanor & Park
Yay, another book I have already read! Park, from Eleanor and Park, is half Korean, half American boy.

____________________________________________________________________________

A book starring a transgender character or transgender issues

The Art of Being Normal
I’m going to steal Cristina’s asnwer because she chose a book that I really would like to read someday. The Art of Being Normal, by Lisa Williamson, has so many positive reviews and I never read about a transgender character. I have read book with gay characters, but never with transgender and I guess this is the kind of book everyone should read since there is so much ignorance about transgender people.

____________________________________________________________________________

I tag:

Catarina @catshelf

Dee @thebookishkhaleesi

Victoria @thepetitebookblogger

Mariana @fireheartbooks

Anna @mybookishdream

____________________________________________________________________________

I really enjoyed answering this book tag! Never be ashamed of who you are! See you soon!

 

12 thoughts on “The Diverse Books Tag

  1. Thank you for the tag! 🙂 (And I’m sorry that I’m replying for this so late.) I’m also going to have the same problem with this tag as you – I also read a lot of fantasy – but I shall try my best! (When I get around to doing this tag.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s okay! no pressure! And you’re welcome!
      Yes, I definitely read a lot of Fantasy and Sci-Fi, even though that, sometimes, there is some diversity, but not always.
      Well, good luck with that tag, then! I really had to do some research to answer it :p

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

